| | ENG



intranet.jpg
For Investigators Only




CareCure
What is Spinal Cord Injury

Wise Young, MD, PhD

Many misconceptions abound concerning spinal cord injury.  For example, many people believe that the spinal cord below the injury site dies after injury.  Others think that the injured spinal cord is like a cut telephone wire and can be fixed by reconnecting the cut ends.  Some people think that the vertebral column is the spinal cord. Even doctors have misleading and inaccurate ideas about spinal cord injury.  For example, many doctors casually use the word "transection" to refer to severely injured spinal cords.  The word should only be applied to the extremely rare situation when the spinal cord has been cut and the cut ends are separated. 


Spinal cord injury usually results from trauma to the vertebral column.  Displaced bone or disc then compresses the spinal cord.  Spinal cord injury can occur without obvious vertebral fractures and you can have spinal fractures without spinal cord injury.  It can also result from loss of blood flow to the spinal cord.  Many people may have had mild spinal cord injury without thinking that it is spinal cord injury.  For example, over a million people per year get "whiplash" in car accidents; they often have neck pain, weakness, and sensory loss that may last days or even months.   Athletes who play football or other contact sports often suffer a transient loss of function that they call a "stinger", i.e. paralysis and sensory loss for minutes or even hours.  Sometimes, people can get spinal cord injury without any obvious cause, a condition called transverse myelitis. 


Spinal cord injuries are usually defined by vertebral level and neurological level, as well as severity.  Vertebral levels are indicated by which bony vertebrae have been fractured or show damage.  Multiple bony vertebrae may be injured.  For example, an injury that causes the C5 vertebra to slip relative to C4 may be called a C4/C5 injury because it compresses the C4 and C5 spinal cord.  Spinal cord levels do not necessary correspond to vertebral levels.  For example, the C5 spinal cord lies in the C4 vertebral segment.  The cord ends at the L1 vertebral level even though the spinal roots continue and exit between the appropriate vertebral segments.


For many years, there was no standardized way of referring to spinal cord injury levels.  Surgeons generally referred to the injury level by the vertebrae that are damaged.  Neurologists and physiatrists, however, tend to refer to the level of spinal cord injury based on the neurological loss.  Neurologists identify the level of injury as the first segmental level that shows sensory or motor loss.  In contrast, physiatrists identify injury level from lowest spinal cord level that has normal motor and sensory function. 


How is spinal cord injury classified?


In 1990, the American Spinal Cord Injury Association (ASIA) proposed a uniform classification system that had five categories, defined in Table 1. Motor level is defined as the level at which the key muscle innervated by the segment has at least 3/5 of its normal strength. Sensory level is defined as the lowest spinal cord level that still has normal pinprick and touch sensation. If there is a spinal cord level below which there is no voluntary motor or conscious sensory function, the person is called a "complete" spinal cord injury.  Since the S5 is the lowest spinal cord level that innervates the anal sphincter, a person that has no voluntary anal sphincter control or sensation is defined as a "complete" spinal cord injury.  A person who has any anal control or sensation is an "incomplete" spinal cord injury.  Some people may have a "complete" spinal cord injury but still has preserved motor or sensory function between the injury level and S5.  This is called the "zone of partial preservation".  Usually, the spinal cord injury level and severity is classified between 72 hours and 7 days after injury. Note that some people have neurological loss at a given spinal cord level but partially preserved function for several or even many segments; this is called the zone of partial preservation (ZPP).


Table 1:  Neurological Classification of Spinal Cord Injury

A

No motor or sensory function preserved in the lowest sacral segments

B

Sensory but not motor function preserved in the lowest sacral segments

C

Motor function present below the injury but most key muscles are <3/5

D

Motor function present below the injury but most key muscles are ≥3/5

E

Motor and sensory function normal in key muscles and dermatomes


Some patterns of spinal cord injury have special names.

  • In the "Central Cord Syndrome", arm function is affected more than the legs. This paradoxical condition is attributed to damage to the central part of the spinal cord. Recent studies of central cord syndrome suggest that the syndrome may be associated with destruction of the lateral spinal tracts.
  • "Brown-Sequard Syndrome" refers to injuries limited to one side of the cord. People have weakness and loss of touch sense in one leg but loss of pain and temperature sensation in the other side.
  • "Anterior Cord Syndrome" refers to the condition when sensation is preserved but motor function is absent below the injury site.
  • "Posterior Cord Syndrome" refers to the condition when motor function is preserved in the absence of sensation.
  • "Conus Medullaire" refers to injury of the conus or lower tip of the spinal cord. This damages the lower lumbar and sacral spinal cord segments.
  • "Cauda Equina Injury" refers to the condition when the damage is limited to the spinal roots below L1.


To read more about spinal cord injury:

What is the Spinal Cord

What is Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

Acute Spinal Cord Injury

Chronic Problems of Spinal Cord Injury

Recovery and Treatment

Recovery from Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury and Family

Ten Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Cure of Spinal Cord Injury

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
About Us | SCI Info | Studies | Events | ISCITT | Contact

| | ENG


intranet.jpg
僅供研究人員使用





CareCure
甚麼是脊髓損傷?

(楊詠威教授英文原文,謝謝部分患友提供中文翻譯)

      有很多關於脊髓損傷的錯誤觀念,如很多人都認為受傷後受傷部位以下的脊髓都死了。另一些人則認為受損的脊髓就像被切斷了的電話線一樣,把兩個斷端重新連接就能修好。還有一些人認為脊柱就是脊髓。甚至許多醫生對脊髓損傷都有錯誤或者不準確的理解。例如,很多醫生經常用"橫斷"來指嚴重的脊髓損傷。這個詞只應該用於脊髓被切斷且斷端分離的罕見情形。

       脊髓損傷通常是由於脊柱的創傷導致。骨頭或椎間盤移位,然後壓迫脊髓。脊髓損傷可以在沒有明顯脊椎骨折的情況下發生,也可能脊椎骨折卻沒有脊髓損傷。脊髓損傷還可能由於脊髓缺血造成。很多人可能患有輕微的脊髓損傷卻沒有意識到自己的脊髓受損。例如:每年有過百萬人在車禍中"扭脖"。他們通常都有持續數天甚至數月的頸部疼痛、乏力和感覺缺失。美式足球或其他身體接觸的運動項目的運動員,經常有短暫的功能喪失,他們稱為"戳傷(stinger)",也就是幾分鐘甚至幾小時的癱瘓和感覺缺失。有些,人們可能在沒有任何明顯的原因下遭受脊髓損傷,稱為橫斷性脊髓炎。

       脊髓損傷通常按照脊椎平面和神經平面以及嚴重程度來界定。脊椎平面以哪個脊椎骨的骨折或受損來確定的。有時可能有多個脊椎骨受損,例如:有時損傷引起C5椎骨相對於C4滑動,造成了C4和C5脊髓受壓,因此可稱為C4/C 5損傷。脊髓平面不一定與脊椎平面吻合。例如:C5 脊髓位於C4脊椎節段。脊髓在L1脊椎平面終止,只有脊根延續,並在相應的脊椎節段間伸出來。

      曾經有很多年都沒有一套標準的方法來說明脊髓損傷平面。那時外科醫生通常根據受損脊椎來說明損傷平面;然而神經科醫生和復健治療師根據神經功能喪失來說明脊髓損傷平面。神經學家認為損傷平面是感覺或運動喪失的第一節段平面。相反,復健治療師認為損傷平面是有正常運動和感覺功能的最低脊髓平面。

脊髓損傷如何分類?

       1990年,美國脊髓損傷協會提出了一套統一的5級分類系統(表1)。運動平面定義為所支配的關鍵肉保有至少五分之三正常力量的神經平面。感覺平面定義為保有針刺和輕觸覺的最低脊髓平面。如果患者在某一個脊髓平面以下沒有任何自主的運動或清晰的感覺功能,那麼就是完全性脊髓損傷。因為S5是最低的脊髓平面,支配肛門括約肌,所以沒有肛門括約肌自主運動或感覺的患者就定義為完全性脊髓損傷。同理,有肛門括約肌控制或感覺的就是不完全性脊髓損傷。一些人是完全性脊髓損傷但仍然在受傷平面和S5之間保留著運動或感覺功能,這就是"部分保留帶"。通常脊髓損傷平面和嚴重性在受傷後72小時到7天之間就進行了分類。值得注意的是一些患者在某一脊髓平面有神經損傷,但有數節甚至許多節段仍有部分功能保留,稱為部分保留帶。

表1:脊髓損傷的神經學分類

A

最低骶段沒有任何運動或感覺功能保留

B

最低骶段有感覺但沒有運動功能保留

C

受損位置以下保有運動功能,但多數關鍵肌肉保有的功能小於3/5

D

受損位置以下保有運動功能,但多數關鍵肌肉保有的功能大於或等於3/5

E

關鍵肌肉和皮節的運動和感覺功能正常


       一些脊髓損傷方式有特殊名稱:

「中央脊髓綜合症」手臂受的影響往往大於腿部。這種反常現象是由於脊髓中心區域受到了損傷。最近有關中央脊髓綜合症的研究顯示這種綜合症可能與脊髓側束的受損有關。

「布朗-塞卡爾綜合症」指脊髓只有一側受損。患者一條腿無力、觸覺缺失,而另一條腿痛覺和溫覺缺失。

「脊髓前角綜合征」指受傷部位以下的感覺保留但運動功能喪失。

「脊髓後角綜合症」指受傷部位以下運動功能保留但感覺缺失。

「脊髓圓錐綜合症」是指脊髓的圓椎或下端尖部受損,為下腰段和骶段的脊髓節受損。

「馬尾神經損傷」指損傷只局限於L1以下的脊根。


點擊下列連結,可瞭解更多內容:

甚麼是脊髓

甚麼是脊髓損傷?

脊髓損傷水平與分類

急性脊髓損傷

脊髓損傷的慢性損害

恢復與治療

脊髓損傷後的恢復

脊髓損傷與家庭

關於治癒脊髓損傷的十大常見問題

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
關於我們 | 脊髓損傷 | 臨床研究 | 活動情況 | 學術大會 | 聯系我們