| | ENG



intranet.jpg
For Investigators Only




CareCure

Acute Spinal Cord Injury

Wise Young, MD, PhD



I receive many calls and emails from people and families with spinal cord injury.  It is better today compared to 1977 when I took care of my first spinal-injured patient and had to tell the family that there was nothing that we could do.  Here is what I say to families now. 

•  Focus on solvable problems.  Make sure that methylprednisolone is given within 8 hours after injury (this drug may improve recovery by 20%).  Find the best and most experienced surgeon.  If the spinal cord is compressed, make sure that it is decompressed as soon as possible.  Prevent complications by insisting on aggressive care of lung, bladder, and skin.  Start rehabilitation as soon as possible.


•  Recovery is the rule and not the exception in spinal cord injury.  
Most people recover some function after spinal cord injury.  On average, people with "complete" injuries recover 8% of the function they had lost, compared to 21% if they received methylprednisolone.  People with "incomplete" injuries recover 59% of lost function, compared to 75% if they received methylprednisolone.  Recovery takes a long time and work.  Many people recover function for 2 or more years after spinal cord injury.


•  Do not give up hope.
 Most scientists believe that it is not a matter if but a matter of when therapies will be available to restore function in spinal cord injury.  Clinical trials are testing therapies to restore function after injury.  Weigh potential risks and benefits carefully before participating in such trials.  Remember that the therapies will get better over time. 


What to ask your doctor?


Families and friends often don't even know what questions to ask the doctors.  Here are some questions to ask in the first hours after injury:


•  Was methylprednisolone given?  This is the high-dose steroid (30 mg/kg intravenous bolus followed by 5.4 mg/kg/hour for 23 hours if it is started within 3 hours and for 47 hours if between 3 to 8 hours after injury).  It should not be started more than 8 hours after injury.  Clinical trials have shown that this treatment improves recovery by about 20% when given within 8 hours after injury but does not help when started more than 8 hours after injury.  While methylprednisolone is not a cure, every little bit helps.  Complications are minimal.


•  What is the level and severity of spinal cord injury?  The consequences of spinal cord injury depend on the level and severity of injury.  Surgeons determine injury levels from the fracture site on the spinal column.  This may differ from neurological level determined from sensory and motor loss.  Spinal cord injury causes loss of sensation and voluntary movement below the injury site.  If the person has motor or sensory function below the injury level at the time of admission, the likelihood of substantial recovery is high. 


•  Has the spinal cord been decompressed?   The spinal cord injury usually results from fracture of vertebral bones that compress the spinal cord.  Continued spinal cord compression increases tissue damage and reduces functional recovery.  If the neck or cervical segments are fractured, traction may straighten out and decompress the vertebral column.  Chest or thoracic fractures cannot be decompressed by traction.  Surgery may be necessary to decompress and stabilize the spinal cord.


•  Has anticoagulation been started?  Blood clots may form in the legs and migrate to the lungs.  This is a serious complication that can be prevented by giving anticoagulants such as heparin or coumadin.  It may be necessary to place a filter (Greenfield filter) in the vein to the heart to catch clots.


•  Pulmonary, bladder, and skin care?   Spinal cord injury may compromise breathing and coughing.  After cervical spinal cord injury, artificial respiration may be necessary and pneumonia is common.  Spinal cord injury paralyzes the bladder and a catheter must be placed in the bladder to drain urine.  Continued pressure causes skin sores called decubiti.  Cushioning vulnerable areas and regular turning prevents this.


Some frequently asked questions and answers


Families and friends often search the Internet and encounter a bewildering array of information that is often out of date and contradictory. Here are some commonly asked questions and quick answers:


•   Will he/she recover?
 Recovery is the rule and not the exception after spinal cord injury.  The probability of recovery is high, especially after "incomplete" spinal cord injury.  Clinical trial data indicate that if a person had even slight sensation or movement below the injury site shortly after injury, they will recover an average of 59% of the function they lost and, if they receive high-dose methylprednisolone, they will recover an average of 75% of what they had lost.  People admitted to hospital with no motor or sensory function below the injury site recover an average of 8% of the function they had lost but will recover an average of 21% if they received methylprednisolone.


•   How long will recovery take?
   Recovery takes a long time.  Most recovery occur within 6 months but many people continue to recover function for a year or more.  A recent poll of the CareCure Community suggests that 61% recovered function more than one year after injury.  In another poll, 16-18% of people who are "complete" spinal cord injury recovered additional function 3 or more years after injury.  A recent study detailed how Christopher Reeve recover function over 7 years after his injury.  So, recovery frequently continues for years after injury.


•   What experimental clinical therapies are available?  
Several clinical trials are assessing therapies that are applied within 2 weeks after injury.  These include activated macrophages (which may help repair the injured cord), alternating currents (to stimulate regeneration), and AIT-082 (a drug that may stimulate growth factors and stem cell proliferation).  The macrophage trial is limited to people with "complete" thoracic spinal cord injury and requires surgery.  Please consider the risk and benefits of the trial carefully, including the risk of moving somebody to another center.


•   Do therapies have to be applied shortly after injury?
 Several experimental therapies are aimed at restoring function in chronic spinal cord injury, when recovery has stabilized a year or more after injury.  These include 4-aminopyridine (a drug that increases excitability of demyelinated axons), porcine fetal stem cell transplants (stem cells from pigs), and olfactory ensheathing glial transplants (cells from the nasal mucosa or from olfactory bulbs).  Other experimental therapies are being planned, including drugs and chemicals that block growth inhibitors.  Thus, there will be many opportunities to participate in clinical trials. 


How is acute spinal cord injury treated?  


Acute spinal cord injury refers to hours or days after spinal cord injury during which continued deterioration or tissue damage may occur.  Shortly after an injury, the spinal cord often does not appear to be severely damaged even though there may be immediate functional loss.  The injury initiates a cascade of chemical and cellular responses that contribute to further tissue damage, including inflammation, free radicals, and swelling (edema). The spinal cord may be compressed during this period.  Compression or decreased perfusion (blood flow) of the spinal cord aggravates the injury.  These causes of progressive tissue damage can and should be relieved as rapidly as possible.  The goal of acute spinal cord injury care is to stabilize the spinal cord to prevent further damage, save as much tissue as possible, and prevent complications of spinal cord injury.


•  Emergency management.  The first objective of emergency management of spinal cord injury is to establish ABC (airway, breathing, and circulation).  The spine must be immobilized to prevent further injury.  The patient must be transported rapidly to the nearest medical center, preferably a Level 1 Trauma Center.  If blood pressure is low, fluid and drug therapies must be given to maintain blood flow in the spinal cord.  In cervical spinal cord injuries that affect breathing, ventilatory support may be necessary.  A foley catheter is usually placed in the bladder to drain urine.


•  Methylprednisolone therapy. The patient should receive intravenous high-dose steroid methylprednisolone (30 mg/kg bolus followed by 5.4 mg/kg/hour for 23 hours) as soon as possible. This therapy improves neurological recovery by about 20%. If the methylprednisolone is started between 3-8 hours after injury, the infusion should be extended to 48 hours. If the methylprednisolone cannot be started within 8 hours, it should not be given. Therapy beyond 8 hours does not improve functional recovery.


•  Decompression of the spinal cord. If the spinal cord is compressed by bone or disc, every effort must be made to decompress the cord as soon as possible. Cervical spinal injuries can often be decompressed by traction of the spinal column to realign the vertebral bodies. However, thoracic and lumbosacral spinal fractures usually cannot be decompressed by traction alone. Surgery may be necessary to decompress the cord or spinal roots. Thoracic or lumbosacral spinal cord decompression may require opening the chest cavity or retroperitoneal space, requiring a team of surgeons. Some surgeons delay surgery for this reason, particularly patients that have so-called "complete" spinal cord injury. I believe that "complete" injuries should be treated as aggressively as incomplete spinal cord injuries.



To read more about spinal cord injury:

What is the Spinal Cord

What is Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

Acute Spinal Cord Injury

Chronic Problems of Spinal Cord Injury

Recovery and Treatment

Recovery from Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury and Family

Ten Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Cure of Spinal Cord Injury

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
About Us | SCI Info | Studies | Events | ISCITT | Contact

| | ENG


intranet.jpg
僅供研究人員使用





CareCure
急性脊髓損傷

(楊詠威教授英文原文,謝謝部分病友提供中文翻譯)       

       我收到過許多脊髓損傷患者及其家屬的電話和郵件。現在的情況比1977年我治療第一個脊髓損傷患者時要好很多。當時,我不得不告訴他(她)們的家人:"我們無能為力"。現在我可以向脊髓損傷患者的家人說:

  • 著重於可解決的問題確保在受傷後8小時內注射甲潑尼龍(這種藥品可能增加20%的恢復);尋找最好最有經驗的外科醫生;如果有脊髓壓迫,要確保儘快進行減壓處理;堅持主動護理,防止肺、膀胱和皮膚的併發症;儘快開始復健訓練。

  • 恢復有規律可循,脊髓損傷也不例外很多人在脊髓損傷後都恢復了某些功能。通常情況下,完全性脊髓損傷的患者能夠恢復所失去功能的8%,如果使用了甲潑尼龍就能夠恢復21%;不完全性脊髓損傷患者能夠恢復所失去功能的59%,如果使用了甲潑尼龍就能夠恢復75%。復健需要大量時間和努力。很多人在脊髓損傷兩年或者更多年後還能夠有功能恢復。

  • 不要放棄希望大多數科學家都相信,脊髓損傷後功能能否恢復並不是問題,問題在於什麼時候才能找到有效的治療方法。目前,各種臨床試驗正在檢測各種針對脊髓受損後功能恢復的治療方法。在參與這樣的試驗前,要慎重權衡潛在的風險和利益。記住,隨著時間的推移治療方法會越來越好。

向醫生詢問什麼?

       很多家屬和朋友經常不知道該問大夫什麼問題。下面是一些在受傷後第一時間要詢問的問題。

  • 用了甲潑尼龍嗎這是一種大劑量的類固醇(如果在受傷3小時內開始治療,先按30mg/kg靜脈一次給藥,接著按每小時5.4mg/kg連續用23小時;如果在受傷3-8小時內開始治療,就要連續注射47個小時)。治療開始的時間不應該超過受傷後8小時。臨床試驗顯示在受傷後8個小時內開始使用能夠提高20%的恢復,如果受傷8個小時後開始使用就沒有什麼療效了。儘管甲潑尼龍不是一種治癒方法,但每一點都是有幫助的。併發症輕微。

  • 脊髓損傷的平面和嚴重程度是什麼脊髓損傷的後果取決於受傷的平面和嚴重程度。外科醫生根據脊柱的骨折部位來決定受傷平面。而神經學平面需根據感覺和運動丟失來決定,二者可能是不同的。脊髓損傷導致受傷位置以下感覺和自主運動功能喪失。如果患者在入院時損傷平面以下是有運動或感覺功能,那麼恢復的可能性就很高。

  • 脊髓減壓了嗎脊髓損傷通常是由於脊椎骨折壓迫脊髓產生的。連續壓迫脊髓增加了組織的損壞且減弱了功能的恢復。如果是頸椎骨折,牽引也許可以拉直,為脊柱減壓。胸椎骨折不能夠依靠牽引來減壓。需要進行手術為脊髓減壓和固定。

  • 開始抗凝治療了嗎腿部可能形成血栓並且轉移到肺。這是一種非常可怕的併發症, 但是可以給予肝素或華法林等抗凝血藥物來預防。必要時,可以在通往心臟的靜脈內放置篩檢程式(Greenfield篩檢程式)來攔截血栓。

  • 怎樣護理肺膀胱和皮膚?脊髓損傷可能影響呼吸和咳嗽功能。頸段脊髓損傷後,可能需要進行人工呼吸,容易引發肺炎。脊髓損傷使膀胱麻痹,須在膀胱內放置導管導尿。連續的壓迫會引起皮膚潰爛,稱為褥瘡。在易損部位擱上墊褥並定時翻身能夠防止褥瘡發生。

部分經常提的問題和答案

      親友們經常會在互聯網上搜尋到大量的資料,但這些資料常令人困惑,部分是過時和相互矛盾的。下面是一些經常問到的問題,給予簡單的答案:

  • 他(她)會恢復麼?脊髓損傷後的恢復是個慣例並不是例外。尤其是不完全性脊髓損傷,恢復的可能性是很高的。臨床試驗資料顯示, 如果患者在受傷後很短的時間內,損傷平面以下能有一些感覺或運動功能,喪失的功能就能平均恢復59%;如果使用了大劑量的甲潑尼龍,喪失的功能就能平均恢復75%。患者如果在入院時受傷平面以下沒有感覺或運動功能,喪失的功能就只能平均恢復8%;如果使用了甲潑尼龍就能恢復21%。

  • 恢復需要多長時間?恢復是一個漫長的過程。大部分功能恢復都發生在受傷後6個月內,但是很多人在受傷一年或以上仍在繼續某些恢復。CARECURE最近一次調查顯示61%的患者在受傷後一年以後仍恢復了部分功能。另一調查顯示,16-18%的"完全性"脊髓損傷患者在受傷3年或更長時間以後還恢復了一些其他功能。在最近的一項研究中詳細介紹了"超人"克裡斯多佛裡夫在受傷後7年裡是如何恢復功能的。因此,傷後恢復通常會持續很多年。

  • 現有哪些實驗性臨床治療方法?一些臨床試驗正在評定多項受傷後2個星期之內的治療方法,包括啟動巨噬細胞(能夠幫助修復損傷的脊髓)、交替電流(刺激再生)和AIT-082(一種能夠刺激生長因數和幹細胞繁殖的藥物)。巨噬細胞試驗只限于完全性胸段脊髓損傷並且需要進行手術。請仔細考慮試驗的風險和利益,包括把患者運往另一個中心的風險。

  • 治療方法是否必須在受傷後很短的時間內實施?一些實驗性的治療方法是針對慢性脊髓損傷的功能恢復的,這時患者在受傷一年或者多年後處於了一種穩定狀態。這些方法包括4-氨基吡啶(一種能使脫髓鞘軸突興奮性增加的藥物)、豬的胚胎幹細胞移植(來自豬的幹細胞)和嗅鞘細胞移植(取自鼻黏膜或者嗅球的細胞)。其他正在計畫中的實驗性治療方法包括:阻止生長抑制因數的藥物和化合物。因此,參與臨床試驗的機會還是很多的。

如何治療急性脊髓損傷?

       急性脊髓損傷指脊髓損傷後的幾小時或幾天,其間組織損傷可能繼續惡化。剛受傷後不久,即使功能立刻喪失,但脊髓通常不會表現出嚴重受損。損傷會引起一系列的化學和細胞反應,包括炎症、自由基以及腫脹(水腫),從而導致組織的進一步破壞。脊髓在這個時期會受到壓縮。脊髓的受壓或灌注(血流)降低會加重傷情。這些導致脊髓組織進一步受損的因素應該儘快消除。急性脊髓損傷治療的目標就是穩定脊髓,防止進一步的傷害,盡可能挽救更多的組織,並且阻止脊髓損傷併發症的發生。

  • 緊急處理:脊髓損傷的緊急處理目的時就建立ABC(氣道、呼吸和循環)。脊柱必須固定防止進一步損傷。病人應迅速送到最近的醫學中心,最好是一級創傷治療中心。如果血壓低,必須給予輸液和藥物治療,以保持脊髓內的血流。對於影響呼吸的頸部脊髓損傷,也許通氣支持是必要的。另外,通常應在膀胱內留置福利導管進行導尿。

  • 甲潑尼龍治療:病人應儘快進行高劑量類固醇甲潑尼龍靜脈給藥(30mg/kg推注,接著5.4mg/kg/小時輸注,持續23小時)。這個治療能增加20%左右的神經系統恢復。如果在受傷後3-8小時內才開始使用甲潑尼龍,靜脈輸注要延長至48小時。如果受傷後8小時內還沒有開始,就不要再使用甲潑尼龍治療。8小時之後開始治療無助於功能恢復。

  • 脊髓減壓:如果脊髓受到骨頭或椎盤擠壓,應盡一切可能進行減壓。頸椎損傷通常能通過脊柱牽引進行減壓、對齊椎體。不過,胸段或腰骶段脊椎骨折通常不能單獨依靠牽引進行減壓。可能需要進行手術來對脊髓或脊根減壓。胸腰骶段脊髓減壓可能需要打開胸腔或腹膜後腔,也許需要一組外科醫生來進行。部分外科醫生因此而拖延了手術,特別是對那些所謂的完全性脊髓損傷。我認為完全性脊髓損傷應該像不完全性脊髓損傷一樣進行積極治療。

點擊下列連結,可瞭解更多內容:

甚麼是脊髓

甚麼是脊髓損傷?

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

急性脊髓損傷

脊髓損傷的慢性損害

恢復與治療

脊髓損傷後的恢復

脊髓損傷與家庭  

關於治癒脊髓損傷的十大常見問題

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
關於我們 | 脊髓損傷 | 臨床研究 | 活動情況 | 學術大會 | 聯系我們