| | ENG



intranet.jpg
For Investigators Only




CareCure

Chronic Problems of Spinal Cord Injury

Wise Young, MD, PhD
 


What is spasticity and neuropathic pain?


Spinal cord injury disconnects the brain from the spinal cord below the injury site.  The spinal cord below the injury site does not die unless it has been damaged by loss of blood flow (ischemia).  The lower spinal cord becomes hyperactive because spinal cord injury interrupts not only excitatory but also inhibitory connections to the cord.  The spinal cord above the injury site also may become hyperactive, producing abnormal sensations. 


•  Spasticity and spasms. Reflexes may be hyperexcitable in the lower spinal cord isolated from the brain by injury. Such reflex hyperexcitability is called spasticity, including neurons that mediate muscle reflexes for feedback control, more complex reflexes such as the withdrawal reflex, anti-gravity reflexes for standing and postural control, and locomotor programs that mediate walking and running. Hyperactive reflexes may be present even when there is voluntary control of the muscle. Spasms are spontaneous or evoked movements multiple muscles. Spasms can occur in limbs that a person has little or no control of, and can be violent enough to throw a person out of a wheelchair. Pain, bladder infection, and irritation of the spinal cord can aggravate spasticity and spasms. A drug called baclofen is often used to control spasticity. Baclofen usually does not prevent spasms unless very high doses are used and causes weakness or flaccidity. Baclofen can be given directly to the spinal cord (intrathecally) to treat severe spasticity when oral doses of 100-120 mg per day are insufficient. Several other drugs also suppress spasticity, including clonidine and tizanidine.


•  Dysesthesia and pain. 
Abnormal sensations (dysesthesia) and neuropathic pain are the flip side of the coin to spasticity and spasms. When the spinal cord loses sensory input, sensory neurons above the injury site become hyperexcitable and can generate abnormal sensations and pain.  This is akin to "phantom pain" after limb amputations and peripheral nerve injuries. Neuropathic pain is often described as "burning" or "pressure", involving areas that have little or no sensation.  It can also occur in deeper organs. Neuropathic pain may be associated with spasticity and spasms.  For many years, doctors did not recognize neuropathic pain and treated it as psychogenic pain.  Several therapies are available for reducing neuropathic pain.  For example, the tricyclic antidepressant amitriptyline (Elavil) may reduce dysesthesia.  Some of the most promising therapies, interestingly, are drugs that are anti-epileptic.  For example, gabapentin (Neurontin) is an anti-epileptic drug that has been reported to reduce neuropathic pain when given in very high doses.  Some recent studies suggest that glutamate receptor blockers such as dextromethorphan and oral ketamine may be useful for refractory neuropathic pain.


Atrophy and Learned Non-Use


Due to loss of activity, muscle, bone, and skin atrophy occur after spinal cord injury.  In addition, parts of the neural circuitry in the brain and spinal cord may turn off.


•  Atrophy. When parts of the body are not used, they undergo atrophy. For example, muscles shrink, bones lose calcium and strength, and skin gets thinner. Activity of muscles, stress on bones, and contact with skin prevent atrophy. Even passive movement will help prevent muscle atrophy and fibrosis. Spasticity and spasms prevent atrophy and maintain muscle bulk. It is not a good idea to take so much anti-spasticity medication that the legs become flaccid (i.e. show no movement). Electrical stimulation (functional electrical stimulation) can be used to activate muscles to drive legs to pedal bicycles and prevent muscle atrophy. Weight bearing may prevent bone loss or osteoporosis while ambulation training on treadmills may reverse osteoporosis. Many drugs are available for increasing calcium in bones. Without exercise or stress on the bones, such drugs may increase the brittleness of bone without increasing ability of the bones to support weight.


•  Learned non-use. Neural circuits in the spinal cord may also turn off when they are not used. Spinal cord injury causes a prolonged period of inactivity in people. For example, a person may not walk for many months after a spinal cord injury and this may turn off neuronal circuits needed for walking. In the early 1990's, several groups reported that intensive ambulation training can restore independent locomotion to 50% or more of people who have some residual sensory or motor function but have never walked after spinal cord injury. Suspending a person over a treadmill and manually moving the legs until they start stepping on their own is one approach to ambulation training. Many rehabilitation centers around the world are studying these effects of weight-supported treadmill walking.


Preventing atrophy and reversing "learned non-use" are important goals of rehabilitation.  Learned non-use may prevent recovery of function despite regenerative and remyelinative therapies.  Some rehabilitation programs offer intensive motor training programs that can prevent or reverse learned non-use.  Unfortunately, intensive and prolonged ambulation programs are very labor-intensive and consequently costly.  Various clinical trials are being conducted to determine the optimal parameters for weight-supported ambulation, biofeedback, and other forms of motor training.  Many rehabilitation centers in the United States have biofeedback, weight-supported ambulation, and functional electrical stimulation (FES) programs.


What happens to the bladder, bowel, and sexual function?


The spinal cord also carries "autonomic" signals that control blood pressure, blood flow, breathing, sweating, bowel, bladder, sexual, and other autonomic functions.


•  Bladder Paralysis and Spasticity. Spinal cord injury paralyzes the bladder. The bladder must be catheterized to drain urine. Indwelling catheters (such as a foley catheter inserted through the urethra) have a high risk of infections. Sterile intermittent catheterization is recommended but may be complicated by bladder spasticity or spontaneous contractions of the bladder. Bladder contractions can push urine into the kidney and this may lead to kidney damage. A drug called Ditropan suppresses bladder spasticity but have side effects such as dry mouth and eyes. Alternative approaches are available, including cutting the bladder sphincter so that urine drains freely into a condom catheter but this approach is not suitable for women. An approach that does not involve compromise of the urinary sphincter is placement of a suprapubic catheter or creation of a intestinal conduit from the abdominal wall to the bladder, i.e. a Mitrafanoff procedure.


•  Bowel constipation and incontinence.  The bowels usually operate without much voluntary control.  However, spinal cord injury slows bowel activity and transit time of food in the gut.  People use a variety of stimulants and suppositories to facilitate bowel activity. Bowel incontinence is a serious problem, often restricting social activity and employment options.  A common technique is to establish a bowel routine to empty the gut on a set schedule. Artificial sphincters are available but the success rates of such procedures are still limited.  Finally, alterations in secretion patterns can lead to indigestion, appetite changes, nausea, gallbladder stones, and other problems, especially in people with cervical spinal cord injury.


•  Erection and ejaculation. 
Most people assume that spinal cord injury eliminates the possibility of sexual function.  However, this is not true for a majority of people with spinal cord injury.  Penile erection is a reflex and many men are able to have erections after spinal cord injury unless the injury involves the lower spinal cord or roots that control erection.  Recent studies suggest that Viagra works for people with spinal cord injury.  Vibrators or electrical stimulation can be used to facilitate ejaculation.  Due to sphincter spasticity or poor coordination of the bladder sphincters, the ejaculate often goes into the bladder rather than outward.  However, with a combination of electroejaculation and semen collection, it is possible to collect ejaculates from nearly all males.  While spinal cord injury may interfere with menstrual cycles, a vast majority of young women with spinal cord injury remain fertile and can conceive.


How does spinal cord injury affect the skin?


Spinal cord injury reduces or eliminates skin sensation in dermatomes below the injury site. Because people cannot feel or move, they may sit or lie for long times on certain parts of their body.  Pressure impedes blood flow in the skin.  Due to muscle atrophy, the normal tissue padding that cushions the butt may be reduced. Absence of sensation, loss of muscle padding, and long periods of pressure can lead to skin breakdown and development of pressure sores or decubiti. Decubiti are potentially life threatening but preventable. 


Spinal cord injury impairs skin blood flow responses.  Normally, skin responds to pressure, mechanical stimulation, or inflammation with increased blood flow.  Loss of this response not only adds to the vulnerability of the skin to pressure sores but reduces the ability of the skin to repair decubiti.  Thus, great care must be taken to prevent decubiti by shifting sitting positions and frequent turning.  Special seats that distribute the pressure are used in wheelchairs to prevent sacral decubiti. Vulnerable areas such as the heels must be padded.  If a decubitus develops, all pressure must be removed or the decubitus can progress to loss of skin and tissues to the point of exposing bone.  The sores must be kept clean or they can become infected.  Plastic surgery may be necessary to repair the decubitus. 


Spinal cord injury also paralyzes sweating in dermatomes below the injury level. People with spinal cord injury must be very careful to maintain their body temperatures.  In contrast to loss of sweating below the injury site, many people with spinal cord injury may have abnormal increases of sweating above the injury site, often in their upper torso and face.  This is a form of autonomic hyperexcitability or spasticity.  It is not unusual for people to sweat profusely on one side of the face and not the other.  Such abnormal sweating responses may develop early or late after injury.


Spinal cord injury disables vascular responses that maintain blood pressure when a person sits or stands up.  Blood vessels in the guts and legs normally constrict when a person stands up, to keep blood from pooling.  When people with spinal cord injury sit up for the first time after injury, their blood pressure may drop sharply.  Such postural hypotension may prevent a person from sitting or standing during the first weeks after spinal cord injury.  The vascular responses recover over time but people must be be tilted gradually into the vertical position over the several weeks after spinal cord injury.  Loss of vascular responses in the legs leads to a tendency for fluid to accumulate in the legs when people sit for long times.  Such dependent edema can be prevented to some extent with stockings.


What is autonomic dysreflexia?


The autonomic nervous system often becomes hyperactive in people with spinal cord injury.  Autonomic dysreflexia manifests in large increases in blood pressure (hypertension) with systolic pressures exceeding 200 mm Hg, slow (bradycardia) or fast heart rate (tachycardia), headaches, facial flushing, exuberant sweating, hyperthermia, stuffy nose, goose pimples, nausea, and other signs of autonomic hyperactivity.  Called autonomic dysreflexia, these episodes may be spontaneously or may be instigated by infection, pain, or other conditions that stimulate the autonomic nervous system.  Severe autonomic dysreflexia may be life-threatening. 


Emergency treatments of autonomic dysreflexia should initially focus on identifying potential causes that can be relieved. If the episode occurred during manipulation of the body, such as rectal stimulation, that activity of course should be stopped.  The person should remain sitting and check for any blockage of bladder outflow.  If necessary, place a foley catheter to drain the bladder. If the cause cannot be identified and eliminated, drugs can be used to relieve the symptoms.  These include Procardia (a calcium channel blocker), nitroglycerin (a vasodilator), clonidine (alpha adrenergic agonist anti-hypertensive drug), or hydralazine (a vasodilator) to reduce blood pressure.  People with spinal cord injury should carry a card with instructions to inexperienced emergency personnel.


Causes of autonomic dysreflexia may sometimes be masked by the spinal cord injury.  For example, a bladder infection, kidney or bladder stones, bowel cramps, gallbladder stones, gastric ulcers, hemorrhoids, pressure sores, back pain, bone fractures, and many other potential causes may not be felt by an individual due to the spinal cord injury but may manifest in autonomic dysreflexia.  Autonomic dysreflexia may result from heterotopic ossification (a condition where abnormal and painful bone growth occurs on the hip and other bones).  Sometimes, back pain resulting from Harrington rods and other instrumentation may lead to autonomic dysreflexia that occur only when sitting up or lying down. 


Autonomic dysreflexia often occur during sexual activity, labor, and delivery.  Fortunately, the autonomic dysreflexia associated with orgasm and other sexual activity is usually mild and controllable with drugs but obstetricians should be aware and prepared to treat autonomic dysreflexia in women undergoing labor.  Some individuals who have uncomfortable autonomic dysreflexia during sexual activity should consult their doctors for the possibility of having medication on hand (such as nitroglycerin) to counter some of the symptoms before or after the activity.  Sometimes, a glass of wine can help reduce autonomic dysreflexia. 


To read more about spinal cord injury:

What is the Spinal Cord

What is Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

Acute Spinal Cord Injury

Chronic Problems of Spinal Cord Injury

Recovery and Treatment

Recovery from Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury and Family

Ten Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Cure of Spinal Cord Injury

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
About Us | SCI Info | Studies | Events | ISCITT | Contact

| | ENG


intranet.jpg
僅供研究人員使用





CareCure
脊髓損傷的慢性損害

(楊詠威教授英文原文,謝謝部分患友提供中文翻譯)

甚麼是痙攣和神經痛?

       脊髓損傷切斷了大腦和受傷平面以下脊髓之間的聯繫。除非因缺血而遭到破壞,受傷平面以下的脊髓並沒有死亡。由於脊髓損傷不僅切斷了脊髓的興奮性連接,也切斷了抑制性連接,下方脊髓就變得過度活躍。受傷平面以上的脊髓也可能變得過度活躍,產生異常的感覺。

  • 痙攣和強直:與大腦失去聯繫的下方脊髓的反射會變得過度興奮。這種反射的過度興奮就叫做痙攣,包括的神經元介導回饋控制中的肌肉反射、更複雜的反射如退縮反射、便於站立和姿態控制的抗重力反射、以及調節行走和跑步的運動程式。過度活躍的反射甚至在有肌肉自主控制時都可能發生。強直痙攣是多塊肌肉的自發或誘發運動。強直會發生在很少能或不能控制的肢體上,激烈程度可以將人從輪椅上甩出。疼痛、膀胱感染以及脊髓刺激都能加重痙攣和強直。一種叫巴氯芬的藥物常用來控制痙攣。巴氯芬不能預防痙攣,除非是大劑量使用,劑量大時會使人虛弱無力。當每天口服劑量達到100至120 mg仍不能有效控制時,巴氯芬可以採用鞘內直接向脊髓給藥,來控制嚴重的痙攣。其他還有幾種藥物可以抑制痙攣,包括可樂定和替紮尼定。

  • 感覺障礙和疼痛:感覺障礙和神經痛相對於痙攣和強直,就像硬幣的另外一面。當脊髓失去了感覺輸入,受傷平面以上的感覺神經就會變得過度興奮,會產生異常的感覺和疼痛,類似於截肢和末梢神經受損之後的幻覺痛。神經痛通常的描述是"燒灼感"和"壓迫感",受累的區域沒有或只有很少量的感覺。神經痛還可能發生在內臟中。神經痛可伴有痙攣和強直。過去多年,醫生並不清楚什麼是神經痛,把它當成精神型疼痛進行治療。現在已有一些減輕神經痛的治療方法。如三環抗抑鬱藥阿米替林可以減輕感覺障礙。有趣的是,也許最有療效的藥物是抗癲癇藥物。例如加巴噴丁是一種抗癲癇藥,據報導大劑量使用時這種藥物可以減輕神經痛。最近幾項研究顯示谷氨酸受體阻斷劑如右美沙芬和口服氯胺酮對難治性神經痛有幫助。

萎縮和"習得性廢用"

       由於運動的缺失,肌肉、骨骼以及皮膚在脊髓損傷後出現了萎縮。另外,腦和脊髓內的部分神經電路可能關閉。

  • 萎縮:身體的某些部分不使用後就會萎縮,如肌肉縮小、骨骼缺鈣變弱以及皮膚變薄。肌肉的運動、骨骼的承載以及皮膚的接觸都都可防止萎縮。即使是被動運動也能防止肌肉的萎縮和纖維化。痙攣和強直能防止肌肉萎縮並保持肌肉的大小。服用太多抗痙攣的藥物,使腿部變得軟弱無力(即沒有運動),並不是個好主意。電刺激(功能性電刺激)可用於啟動肌肉、帶動腿部蹬車,以防止肌肉萎縮。負重可以防止骨質疏鬆;而平板步行訓練則可以骨質疏鬆逆轉。許多藥物可以用於增加骨中的鈣含量。但如果沒有對骨頭進行訓練或施壓,這些藥物只會增加骨頭的脆性,而不能增強骨頭的載重能力。

  • "習得性廢用"脊髓內的神經回路如果不用就會關閉。脊髓損傷會令人較長時間內不活動。如一個人會在脊髓損傷後幾個月都沒走過路,這就會關閉走路所需要的神經回路。上世紀90年代早期有幾組報導,殘留部分感覺或運動神經、但在受傷後沒有練習過行走的脊髓損傷患者,通過強化行走訓練可使50%甚至更多的人恢復獨立運動功能。將患者懸在一個腳踏板上並人工移動他們的腳,直到他們開始自行踏步,就是一種步行訓練的方法。世界上許多復健中心正在研究減重踏板步行。

       防止萎縮和糾正"習得性廢用"是復健訓練的重要目標。即使有再生治療和再髓鞘化治療,"習得性廢用"仍會阻止功能恢復。一些復健計畫提供了能防止或治療"習得性廢用"的強化運動訓練。不幸的是,強化長時間的行走計畫非常消耗人力和財力。各種臨床試驗正在研究減重行走、生物回饋以及其他形式運動訓練的最適參數。美國許多復健中心都有生物回饋、減重行走以及功能電刺激的項目。


脊髓損傷對膀胱、腸道和性功能有甚麼影響?

       脊髓可以傳遞"自主"信號,控制血壓、血流、呼吸、出汗、大便、膀胱、性行為等自主功能。

  • 膀胱麻痹和痙攣:脊髓損傷會麻痹膀胱,膀胱必須插管導尿。留置導尿管(例如從尿道插入的福利導尿管)感染的風險較高,故推薦用無菌間歇導尿,但是這種方法可能併發膀胱痙攣或膀胱自發性收縮。膀胱收縮會使尿液回流至腎臟,造成腎臟損害。藥物奧昔布寧(商品名Ditropan)可以抑制膀胱痙攣但是有一定的副作用,如口幹和眼幹。還有一些其它方法可供選擇,例如膀胱括約肌切開、讓尿自由流入一個避孕套導管中,但這種方法不適合女性患者。還有一種不損傷泌尿括約肌的方法是在恥骨上置流一個導尿管或是從腹壁到膀胱行一個腸膀胱改道術,如米多芬(Mitrafanoff)手術。

  • 便秘和大便失禁:腸道功能通常無需太多有意識的控制。但是脊髓損傷減慢了腸道活動,延長了食物在腸道的通過時間。人們使用各種刺激物和栓劑來幫助腸道蠕動。大便失禁也是個嚴重的問題,常限制了患者參與社會活動並局限了就業選擇面。常用的解決方法是建立排便習慣,固定一個時間來排空腸道。也可選擇人工括約肌,但這種方法的成功率仍不高。最後,分泌方式的變化還會導致消化不良、食欲變化、噁心、膽結石等等問題,特別是對頸段脊髓損傷者影響更大。

  • 勃起和射精:多數人認為脊髓損傷者沒有可能有性功能了。然而,對於大多數脊髓損傷者來說並非如此。陰莖勃起是一種反射,許多男性脊髓損傷後仍有勃起功能,除非是損傷累及到控制勃起的下部脊髓或脊根。最近的研究顯示萬艾可(Viagra)對脊髓損傷患者有效。顫振按摩器或電刺激有助於射精。由於括約肌痙攣或膀胱括約肌協調不好,精液常排入膀胱而非體外。不過結合電刺激和精液採集,幾乎所有男性脊髓損傷患者都可採集到精液。雖然脊髓損傷會影響月經週期,但是絕大多數女性脊髓損傷患者仍有生育能力並能夠懷孕。

 脊髓損傷對皮膚有何影響?

       脊髓損傷減弱或破壞了受傷位置以下皮區的皮膚感覺。由於沒有感覺和運動功能,脊髓損傷患者可能會較長時間用身體某些部位坐著或躺著,擠壓會阻止血液流入皮膚。由於肌肉萎縮,保護臀部的正常組織墊會減少。感覺的缺失、肌肉墊的缺失、以及長時間的擠壓就會導致皮膚受損,會引發壓瘡或褥瘡。褥瘡對生命構成潛在威脅但可以預防。

       脊髓損傷也影響了血液流動反應。正常情況下,皮膚會對擠壓、機械刺激或炎症會產生反應,增加血液流動。缺乏這些反應不僅會使皮膚易生壓瘡,而且還會減弱皮膚修復褥瘡的能力。因此,必須加強護理、不斷改變坐姿和頻繁翻身,來防止褥瘡的發生。在輪椅上使用可以分散壓力的特殊座位,可以防止骶骨褥瘡的發生。易受損部位如腳跟必須加墊。如果發生褥瘡,則必須排除所有擠壓,否則褥瘡會讓這個區域的皮膚和組織潰爛,直至骨頭暴露。潰爛處必須保持清潔,否則可能發生感染。需要做整形手術修復褥瘡。

       脊髓損傷還會使損傷平面以下的皮區喪失出汗功能。脊髓損傷患者一定要非常小心地保持自己的體溫。相對而言,許多脊髓損傷患者在損傷平面以上身體出汗會異常增多,通常發生在上部軀幹和面部。這是自主神經過度興奮或痙攣的一種方式。患者面部一邊大量出汗而另一邊卻不出汗的現象並不少見。這種異常的出汗現象也許受傷後或早或遲都會出現。

       脊髓損傷會讓患者喪失血管反應,在坐或站立時血管反應可使血壓保持穩定。正常情況下,人站立時,腸道和腿部的血管會收縮,以防止血液淤積。脊髓損傷者在受傷後第一次坐起時,血壓會急劇下降。這樣的體位性低血壓會使病人在受傷後第一周內不願意坐起或站立。血管反應經過一段時間會恢復,但患者必須在傷後數周時間內逐漸傾斜體位直至垂直體位。腿部喪失血管反應,使長時間坐立者容易形成腿部血液淤積。長襪在一定程度上可防止這種依賴性水腫。


甚麼是自主神經反射異常?

       脊髓損傷患者的自主神經系統通常會變得過度活躍。自主神經反射異常表現出來的是血壓大幅升高收縮壓超過200毫米汞柱(高血壓)、心率變慢(心動過緩)或心率變快(心動過速)、頭痛、面部潮紅、出虛汗、體溫過高、鼻塞、起雞皮疙瘩、噁心以及其他自主神經過度活躍的病徵。這些稱為自主神經反射異常的現象,可以是自發的、也可以由感染、疼痛或其它情況刺激自主神經系統而引起。嚴重的自主神經反射異常可危及生命。

       自主神經反射異常的急症處理首先應重點確定哪些病因是當前可以減緩的。如果是身體進行某些操作(如直腸刺激)時發病,這些活動應該立刻停止。病人應該保持坐姿,並檢查是否有膀胱外流阻滯。如果必要,可放置一個福利導尿管將膀胱內尿液匯出。如果致病因素無法查明和消除,可以使用一些藥物減輕病症。可用藥物包括硝苯地平 (鈣通道阻斷劑)、硝酸甘油(血管擴張劑)、可樂定(α腎上腺素能激動劑降壓藥)或降肼苯噠嗪(一種血管擴張劑 )降低血壓。脊髓損傷患者應該隨身攜帶一張指示卡,指導沒有這方面經驗的急救人員。

       脊髓損傷有時會掩蓋住自主神經反射異常的真正原因。例如,膀胱感染、腎臟或膀胱結石、腸道痙攣、膽結石、胃潰瘍、痔瘡、壓瘡、背痛、骨折等等許多潛在因素,會因為脊髓損傷而不被患者察覺,但會表現出自主神經反射異常。自主神經反射異常也可能由異位骨化(髖部或其它骨頭不正常生長和疼痛)引起;有時,哈氏棒和其它器械引起的背痛也會導致自主神經反射異常,但只發生在坐起著或躺下時。

       自主神經反射異常也常會發生在性生活、臨盆和分娩時。所幸的是,與性高潮和其它性行為相關聯的自主神經反射異常通常是輕微的,且可以通過藥物控制的。不過產科醫生應該意識到、並準備好治療產婦的自主神經反射異常。有些人性生活中受自主神經反射異常干擾,應該向醫生諮詢是否需要準備好服用相應的藥物(如硝化甘油)來應對房事前後的這些症狀。有時,一杯葡萄酒也能幫助減輕自律反射障礙。


點擊下列連結,可瞭解更多內容:

甚麼是脊髓

甚麼是脊髓損傷?

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

急性脊髓損傷

脊髓損傷的慢性損害

恢復與治療

脊髓損傷後的恢復

脊髓損傷與家庭

關於治癒脊髓損傷的十大常見問題

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
關於我們 | 脊髓損傷 | 臨床研究 | 活動情況 | 學術大會 | 聯系我們