| | ENG



intranet.jpg
For Investigators Only




CareCure
Recovery and Treatment

Wise Young, MD, PhD
 

Does recovery occur after spinal cord injury?



Many doctors tell patients and families that recovery does not occur after spinal cord injury. This is not true.  Recovery is the rule, not the exception after spinal cord injury.

  • Segmental recovery.  Most patients recover 1-2 segments below the injury site, even after so-called "complete" spinal cord injuries.  For example, a person with a C4/5 injury may have deltoid function on admission and then recover biceps (C5), wrist extensors (C6), and perhaps even triceps (C7) after several months, and the associated dermatomes.

  • Recovery due to methylprednisolone.  The second National Acute Spinal Cord Injury Study (NASCIS 2) showed that patients with "complete" spinal cord injuries and who did not receive the high-dose steroid methylprednisolone recovered on average 8% of motor function they had lost.  If they received methylprednisolone within 8 hours after injury, they recovered on average 21% of what they had lost.  In contrast, people with "incomplete" spinal cord injury recovered on average 59% of motor function and 75% if treated with high dose methylprednisolone. 

  • Recovery of postural reflexes.  Most people with cervical or upper thoracic spinal cord injury are initially unable to control their trunk muscles.  However, most will recover better trunk control over months or even years after injury.    

  • Walking quads and paras. Most people with "incomplete" spinal cord injuries, i.e. ASIA C, will recover standing or walking. Walking recovery after "complete" spinal cord injuries, i.e. ASIA A, are rare but can occur in 5% of the cases. In the 1980's, less than 40% of spinal cord injuries admitted to hospital were "incomplete". However, in the 1990's, over 60% of spinal cord injuries are "incomplete" and thus the incidence of "walking quads" or "walking paras" may be higher than most people think.

Both animal and human studies indicate that as little as 10% of spinal cord tracts can support substantial function, including locomotion.  People often can walk even though a tumor has damaged 90% of their spinal cord.  This is due to the redundancy and plasticity of the spinal cord.  Multiple spinal pathways serve similar or overlapping functions. Plasticity refers to the ability of axons to sprout and make new connections.  Because transected spinal cords are rare, most people have some spinal axons crossing the injury site.  This is the basis of the hope that even slight regeneration of the spinal cord will restore substantial function.


How is acute spinal cord injury treated?  


Acute spinal cord injury refers to hours or days after spinal cord injury during which continued deterioration or tissue damage may occur.  Shortly after an injury, the spinal cord often does not appear to be severely damaged even though there may be immediate functional loss.  The injury initiates a cascade of chemical and cellular responses that contribute to further tissue damage, including inflammation, free radicals, and swelling (edema). The spinal cord may be compressed during this period.  Compression or decreased perfusion (blood flow) of the spinal cord aggravates the injury.  These causes of progressive tissue damage can and should be relieved as rapidly as possible.  The goal of acute spinal cord injury care is to stabilize the spinal cord to prevent further damage, save as much tissue as possible, and prevent complications of spinal cord injury.


  • Emergency management.  The first objective of emergency management of spinal cord injury is to establish ABC (airway, breathing, and circulation).  The spine must be immobilized to prevent further injury.  The patient must be transported rapidly to the nearest medical center, preferably a Level 1 Trauma Center.  If blood pressure is low, fluid and drug therapies must be given to maintain blood flow in the spinal cord.  In cervical spinal cord injuries that affect breathing, ventilatory support may be necessary.  A foley catheter is usually placed in the bladder to drain urine.
  • Methylprednisolone therapy. The patient should receive intravenous high-dose steroid methylprednisolone (30 mg/kg bolus followed by 5.4 mg/kg/hour for 23 hours) as soon as possible. This therapy improves neurological recovery by about 20%. If the methylprednisolone is started between 3-8 hours after injury, the infusion should be extended to 48 hours. If the methylprednisolone cannot be started within 8 hours, it should not be given. Therapy beyond 8 hours does not improve functional recovery.

  • Decompression of the spinal cord. If the spinal cord is compressed by bone or disc, every effort must be made to decompress the cord as soon as possible. Cervical spinal injuries can often be decompressed by traction of the spinal column to realign the vertebral bodies. However, thoracic and lumbosacral spinal fractures usually cannot be decompressed by traction alone. Surgery may be necessary to decompress the cord or spinal roots. Thoracic or lumbosacral spinal cord decompression may require opening the chest cavity or retroperitoneal space, requiring a team of surgeons. Some surgeons delay surgery for this reason, particularly patients that have so-called "complete" spinal cord injury. I believe that "complete" injuries should be treated as aggressively as incomplete spinal cord injuries.

Experimental Therapies for Subacute Spinal Cord Injury 


Several experimental therapies are being tested in clinical trial for spinal cord injury during the first days or weeks after injury.  More information is available in the Clinical Trial Forum on the CareCure site.


  • Monosialic ganglioside (GM1, Sygen). In 1991, Fred Geisler and colleagues reported that GM1 injected daily for 6 weeks after injury improve locomotor recovery 37 patients. Fidia Pharmaceutical subsequently tested this therapy in a large multicenter clinical trial in 800 patients, showing that the GM1 accelerated recovery during the first six weeks but did not significantly improve the extent of recovery at 6-12 months after injury. Note that this trial is no longer active. Although the drug is still available in Europe and South America, the company Fidia has been bought by another company. CareCure Forum (GM1) Link

  • Activated macrophage transplants. In 1998, Michal Schwartz at the Weizmann Institute reported that activated macrophages obtained from blood and transplanted to the spinal cord improve functional recovery in rats. The company Proneuron initiated phase 1 clinical trials to assess feasibility and safety of macrophage transplants in human spinal cord injury. Preliminary reports suggest that the treatment is feasible and safe. All the patients had "complete" thoracic spinal cord injury and received macrophage transplants within 2 weeks after injury. Three of the 8 patients recovered from ASIA A to ASIA C, more than the expected 5%. A phase 1 clinical trial is continuing at Erasmus Hospital in Brussels, Belgium. A phase 2 trial is being planned in two U.S. centers including Craig Hospital in Denver (CO) and Mt. Sinai in New York City (NY). CareCure Forum (Macrophage) Link

  • Alternating Current Electrical Stimulation. In 1999, Richard Borgens and colleagues at Purdue University reported that alternating currents applied to dog spinal cords stimulated regeneration and recovery of function in dogs with spinal cord injury. A clinical trial has commenced at Purdue University for people who are within 2 weeks after acute spinal cord injury. CareCure Forum (AC Stim) Link

  • AIT-082 (Neotrofin). This is a guanosine analog that can be taken orally and reportedly increases neurotrophins or neural growth factors in the brain and spinal cord. Neotherapeutics tested this drug in patients with Alzheimer's disease. They started a multicenter clinical trial at Ranchos Los Amigos in Downey (CA), Gaylord Hospital in Wallingford (CT), and Thomas Jefferson Hospital in Philadelphia. The treatment must be started within 2 weeks after spinal cord injury. CareCure Forum (AIT-082) Link

Experimental Therapies for Chronic Spinal Cord Injury


Several therapies are being tested in clinical trials for chronic spinal cord injury, i.e. people whose neurological recovery has stabilized one or more years after injury.  Many other treatments are being considered for clinical trial (see article on Advances in Spinal Cord Injury Therapy 25 November 2002).


  • 4-aminopyridine (4-AP). This drug is a small molecule that blocks fast voltage sensitive potassium channels. The drug can be obtained by physician prescription from compounding pharmacies in the United States. In addition, Acorda Therapeutics is carrying out a multicenter phase 3 clinical trial of a sustained release formulation of the drug in people who are more than one and a half years after "incomplete" spinal cord injury. The drug may improve conduction of demyelinated axons in the spinal cord and preliminary clinical trial results suggest that the drug may reduce spasticity and improve motor or sensory function in as many as a third of people with chronic spinal cord injury. See CareCure Forum (4-AP) Link

  • Fetal porcine stem cell transplants. Embryonic stem cells have attracted much attention. Several studies of human fetal cell transplants have been carried out in Sweden, Russia, and the United States, showing that transplanted fetal cells will engraft in human spinal cords. However, due in part of the lack of availability of adult human stem cells for transplantation and politics associated with the use of embryonic human stem cells, the first and only stem cell therapy trial for spinal cord injury in the United States used fetal stem cells from pigs. A phase 1 clinical trial at Washington University in St. Louis (MO) and Albany Medical Center in Albany (NY) has transplanted fetal stem obtained from pig fetuses and treated with antibodies to reduce the immune rejection. Sponsored by Diacrin, this trial is aiming to test 10 patients. See CareCure Forum (Diacrin) Link

  • Olfactory ensheathing glial transplants.  Olfactory ensheathing glia (OEG) reside in the olfactory nerve and the olfactory bulb.  They are believed to be why the olfactory nerve continuously regenerates in adults.  OEG cells are made in the nasal mucosa and migrate up the nerve to the olfactory bulb.  Several laboratories have shown that OEG transplants facilitate regeneration of the spinal cord.  Three clinical trials have started in Lisbon (Portugal), Brisbane (Australia), and Beijing (China).  In Lisbon, they are transplanting nasal mucosa obtained from the patient into the spinal cord.  In Brisbane, they are culturing OEG cells from nasal mucosa and transplanting the cells to the spinal cord.  In Beijing, they are culturing OEG from human fetal olfactory bulbs and transplanting into the spinal cord.  See CareCure Forum Link (Brisbane) and CareCure Forum Link (Beijing)


To read more about spinal cord injury:

What is the Spinal Cord

What is Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

Acute Spinal Cord Injury

Chronic Problems of Spinal Cord Injury

Recovery and Treatment

Recovery from Spinal Cord Injury

Spinal Cord Injury and Family

Ten Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Cure of Spinal Cord Injury

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
About Us | SCI Info | Studies | Events | ISCITT | Contact

| | ENG


intranet.jpg
僅供研究人員使用





CareCure
恢復與治療
(楊詠威教授英文原文,謝謝部分患友提供中文翻譯)

脊髓損傷後還在恢復嗎?

       許多醫生告訴病人和他們的家人脊髓損傷後就不能恢復了。這並不正確!恢復是自然規律,脊髓損傷也不例外。

  • 節段恢復:大多數病人都能恢復到受傷平面以下的1-2段,甚至是所謂的完全性脊髓損傷。如,一個頸4/5的患者恢復了三角肌的功能,然後又恢復了二頭肌(頸5)和手腕伸肌的功能(頸6),甚至還可能在受傷後數月恢復三頭肌的功能(頸7),以及相關的皮區的恢復。
  • 甲潑尼龍幫助恢復:"國家急性脊髓損傷研究"的第二階段顯示完全性脊髓損傷患者如果沒有接受大劑量類固醇甲潑尼龍的治療,其運動功能僅能平均恢復8%。如果在受傷後8個小時內接受了甲潑尼龍的治療,其能恢復21%的功能。對與不完全損傷患者來說,接受了大劑量的甲潑尼龍治療,平均能恢復75%的運動功能,沒有接受就僅能恢復59%。
  • 姿勢反射的恢復:大多數頸和上胸脊髓損傷患者最初都不能控制自己的軀幹肌肉。但是,大多數人都能在數月甚至數年後恢復更好的軀體控制。
  • 能行走的四肢癱和截癱者:大多數不完全損傷患者如ASIA分級C者都能恢復站立或行走。完全性脊髓損傷就很難恢復行走功能,但也有5%的人能夠恢復。上世紀80年代,因脊髓損傷而住院的患者只有40%以下是不完全損傷。然而,到了上世紀90年代這個比例增加到了60%以上。因此,"能行走的四肢癱者"或"能行走的截癱者"的發生率高於大多數人的想像。

       動物和人體的研究都顯示只要有10%的脊髓纖維就能支持實質性功能,包括運動功能。即使是腫瘤破壞了90%的脊髓,病人仍能行走。這就是因為脊髓有冗餘性和可塑性。冗餘性指多重的脊髓通路完成相似或重疊的功能。可塑性指的是神經軸突生長和形成新連接的能力。由於脊髓完全橫斷的情況很少,大多數患者仍有部分軸突跨過損傷位置。這就是希望之所在,即使少量脊髓再生都給功能恢復將帶來實質性幫助。


如何治療急性脊髓損傷?

       急性脊髓損傷指脊髓損傷後的幾小時或幾天,其間組織損傷可能繼續惡化。剛受傷後不久,即使功能立刻喪失,但脊髓通常不會表現出嚴重受損。損傷會引起一系列的化學和細胞反應,包括炎症、自由基以及腫脹(水腫),從而導致組織的進一步破壞。脊髓在這個時期會受到壓縮。脊髓的受壓或灌注(血流)降低會加重傷情。這些導致脊髓組織進一步受損的因素應該儘快消除。急性脊髓損傷治療的目標就是穩定脊髓,防止進一步的傷害,盡可能挽救更多的組織,並且阻止脊髓損傷併發症的發生。

  • 緊急處理:脊髓損傷的緊急處理目的時就建立ABC(氣道、呼吸和迴圈)。脊柱必須固定防止進一步損傷。病人應迅速送到最近的醫學中心,最好是一級創傷治療中心。如果血壓低,必須給予輸液和藥物治療,以保持脊髓內的血流。對於影響呼吸的頸部脊髓損傷,也許通氣支持是必要的。另外,通常應在膀胱內留置福利導管進行導尿。
  • 甲潑尼龍治療:病人應儘快進行高劑量類固醇甲潑尼龍靜脈給藥(30 mg/kg推注,接著5.4 mg/kg/小時輸注,持續23小時)。這個治療能增加20%左右的神經系統恢復。如果在受傷後3-8小時內才開始使用甲潑尼龍,靜脈輸注要延長至48小時。如果受傷後8小時內還沒有開始,就不要再使用甲潑尼龍治療。8小時之後開始治療無助於功能恢復。
  • 脊髓減壓:如果脊髓受到骨頭或椎盤擠壓,應盡一切可能進行減壓。頸椎損傷通常能通過脊柱牽引進行減壓、對齊椎體。不過,胸段或腰骶段脊椎骨折通常不能單獨依靠牽引進行減壓。可能需要進行手術來對脊髓或脊根減壓。胸腰骶段脊髓減壓可能需要打開胸腔或腹膜後腔,也許需要一組外科醫生來進行。部分外科醫生因此而拖延了手術,特別是對那些所謂的完全性脊髓損傷。我認為完全性脊髓損傷應該像不完全性脊髓損傷一樣進行積極治療。

亞急性脊髓損傷的試驗性治療

       針對脊髓損傷後幾天或幾個星期的治療,有幾種實驗性療法正在進行臨床試驗測試。詳細情況可參看CareCure網站上的的臨床試驗論壇

  • 單唾液酸神經節苷脂(GM1,Sygen)1991年,佛瑞德.蓋斯勒和他的同事報導傷後六周每天注射神經節苷脂促進了37名患者的運動功能恢復。隨後菲迪亞藥廠在一個大型多中心、800名患者的臨床試驗中,顯示神經節苷脂能加速前六周的功能恢復,但在傷後6到12個月促進恢復的程度就不是很明顯了。注,這個試驗已經不再進行。雖然歐洲和南美仍有神經節苷脂供應,但菲迪亞製藥已經被另一個公司收購。CareCure Forum (GM1) Link
  • 啟動巨噬細胞移植:1998年,魏茲曼科學院的米切爾.施瓦茲報導,從大鼠血液中獲取的巨噬細胞啟動移植到脊髓能促進功能恢復。以色列Proneuron公司進行了第一期臨床試驗,評估人類啟動巨噬細胞移植治療脊髓損傷的可行性和安全性。試驗所有的病人都是完全性胸段脊髓損傷,在傷後2周內接受巨噬細胞移植。8名病人中有3人從ASIA A恢復到ASIA C,比預期的多5%。比利時布魯塞爾伊拉茲馬斯醫院正在進行一項第一期的臨床試驗。美國的兩個中心丹佛克雷格醫院和紐約西奈山醫院正在籌畫進行第二期臨床試驗。CareCure Forum (Macrophage) Link
  • 交流電刺激:1999年,普渡大學的理查.伯根斯和同事報導,將交流電用到狗的脊髓上,能夠刺激促進了受傷脊髓再生和功能恢復。普渡大學已展開一項臨床試驗,試驗物件是急性脊髓損傷後二周內的患者。CareCure Forum (AC Stim) Link
  • AIT-082(Neotrofin)AIT-082是鳥嘌呤核苷類似物,能夠口服。據報導,它可以增加大腦和脊髓中的神經營養因數或神經生長因數。"新治療"公司在阿爾茨海默病患者身上對這種藥物進行了試驗。他們在在加州唐尼的Ranchos Los Amigos醫院、康州Wallingford的Gaylord醫院和費城湯瑪斯.傑弗遜醫院開展了一次多機構合作臨床試驗。這種療法必須在脊髓損傷後的兩周內開始。CareCure Forum (AIT-082) Link

慢性脊髓損傷的試驗性治療

       一些針對慢性脊髓損傷的治療方法正在進行臨床試驗。慢性脊髓損傷患者就是指受傷一年或多年後神經恢復進入一種穩態的患者群體。另外,許多其他的治療方法也正在考慮展開臨床試驗(見Advances in Spinal Cord Injury Therapy 25 November 2002中的article )。

  • 4-氨基吡啶:4-氨基吡啶是一種小分子藥物,能夠阻斷快速電壓敏感的鉀通道。4-氨基吡啶可以憑醫生處方在美國的綜合藥房買到。另外,阿冠達治療公司正在展開一項持續釋放製劑的第三期多機構合作臨床試驗,受試者是受傷一年半以上的不完全性損傷病人。這種藥物可改善脊髓內脫髓鞘神經軸突的傳導,早期臨床試驗的結果顯示這種藥可以使多達三分之一慢性脊髓損傷患者的痙攣減少、運動或感覺功能改善。CareCure Forum (4-AP) Link
  • 豬胎兒幹細胞移植:胚胎幹細胞移植已經引起了廣泛關注。在瑞典、俄羅斯以及美國都展開了一些人類胎兒細胞移植的研究,顯示移植的胎兒細胞可以在人類脊髓中生長。然而,由於缺少可用于移植的成人幹細胞以及人類胚胎幹細胞所涉及的政治問題,第一個也是唯一一個在美國展開的治療脊髓損傷的幹細胞試驗使用了豬的胎兒幹細胞。聖路易斯華盛頓大學和奧爾巴尼醫學中心進行的第一期臨床試驗,使用了取自豬胎的幹細胞進行移植,並使用抗體來減低免疫排斥。這項試驗由美國迪亞克林公司發起,試驗對象為10位元病人。CareCure Forum (Diacrin) Link
  • 嗅鞘細胞移植:嗅鞘細胞生長在嗅神經和嗅球內。人們相信這就是為什麼成年人體內嗅神經能夠持續再生。嗅鞘細胞在鼻粘膜內形成,並將神經向上延伸到嗅球內。一些實驗室已經顯示嗅鞘細胞移植可促進脊髓的再生。葡萄牙的里斯本、澳大利亞的布里斯班以及中國的北京已經分別展開了三項臨床試驗。在里斯本,醫生們將病人自身的鼻粘膜移植到脊髓中。在布里斯班,他們從鼻粘膜中取嗅鞘細胞進行培養,然後移植入患者脊髓中。在北京,醫生從人類胎兒嗅球中取出的嗅鞘細胞進行培養,然後移植到患者脊髓。見CareCure Forum Link (Brisbane)CareCure Forum Link (Beijing)

點擊下列連結,可瞭解更多內容:

甚麼是脊髓

甚麼是脊髓損傷?

Spinal Cord Injury Levels and Classification

急性脊髓損傷

脊髓損傷的慢性損害

恢復與治療

脊髓損傷後的恢復

脊髓損傷與家庭

關於治癒脊髓損傷的十大常見問題

 
Copyright © 2007. CHINASCINET
關於我們 | 脊髓損傷 | 臨床研究 | 活動情況 | 學術大會 | 聯系我們